Information about the various awards that are presented by the Division to its members, along with a list of past recipients.

7th Division Awards

There are two awards that may be presented annually to members of the 7th Division as outlined below.

The Jack Work Memorial Trophy Jim Little coordinator

Jack Work is considered by many to have been a pioneer in the hobby of model railroading. During the 1950's and 60's he shared much of his substantial knowledge and accomplishments with the modelling public through many articles in noted periodicals. After his death in June 1996, his stainless steel railway whistle was kindly donated to the NMRA PNR 7th Division and now is the basis of the Jack Work Memorial Trophy.

The Trophy is presented annually to the 7th division member who best exhibits the qualities that Jack Work displayed, namely: imagination, creativity, innovation, artistry, forward thinking, quality workmanship and the sharing of the results of these qualities with the rest of the hobby. The award may only be received once in a lifetime. The candidates are nominated by their peers.

The Award is based on modelling accomplishments and the sharing of those accomplishments and their appropriate model-building techniques and methods.

The 7th Division is very fortunate to have this prestigious award.

Jack Work Memorial Trophy Winners
2019 Robert Turner
2018 Jim Little MMR
2016 Mark Dance
2013 Mike Chandler MMR
2010 Mike Barone
2008 Ed Warren, MMR
2004 Russ Watson
2002 Bob Gardner MMR
2001 Patrick Lawson MMR
1999 Doug (MMR) and Jackie Hole
1998 Brian Pate

The Ross Heriot Gold Spike Award
by John Green

The award is presented annually to the individual or individuals in the PNR 7th Division who has made a significant contribution to the division. It is in appreciation of his/her unselfish devotion of time and effort to further the aims of the NMRA, the PNR and the hobby of model railroading through assistance and service for the benefit of all model railroaders within the division.

The award is a once-in-a-lifetime presentation and candidates are nominated by their peers.

The award is a simulated gold spike on a plaque. The spike is a real E&N (Rail America) railroad spike.

Ross Heriot Gold Spike Award Winners
2019 Tom Lundgren
2018 Rene Gourley
2016 Mike Chandler MMR
2015 Greg Kennelly
2014 Greg Madsen also PNR POY in 2014
2012 Eric Reynard
2011 Bill Dixon
2010 Bob Gardner, MMR
2009 Larry Sebelley
2008 Mike Barone
2007 John Zuk
2006 Dave Tomljenovich
2005 Russ Watson
2004 -
2003 -
2002 -
2001 Ted Alexis
2000 Ken Rutherford and Rick Lord
1999 Gary Hazell, also PNR POY* in 1995
1998 John Green
1997 Hugh Clarke
1996 Brian Clogg
1995 -
1994 -
1993 Gordon Varney
1992 Scott Calvert, also PNR POY in 1993
1991 Ken Davis also PNR POY in 1965
1990 Dick Sutcliffe, also PNR POY in 2000
1989 Steve Stark
1988 Bert Battey
1987 Carl Sparks
1986 Phil Magnal
1985 Shirley and Rob Heap
1984 Brian Pate
1983 George Biel
1982 Tom Beaton also PNR POY in 1983
1981 Hank Menkveld also PNR POY in 1985
1980 Art Jones
1979 -
1978 Ken Griffiths
1977 Ken Vere
1976 -
1975 Fraser Wilson
1974 -
1973 Doug Stevenson also PNR POY in 1975
1972 Cyril Meadows
1971 Doug Harmon
1970 Phil Crawley
1969 Norm Szun
1968 Frank McKinney also PNR POY in 1973

Note: *POY is the PNR person of the year award

The NMRA Master Model Railroader Award

We are also very fortunate to have a number of NMRA Master Model Railroaders within the 7th Division.

The following past or present 7th Division members have earned the title of Master Model Railroader (MMR) after successfully meeting all of the MMR requirements within the NMRA Achievement Program (AP). The AP is a system of requirements for demonstrating a superior level of skill in various aspects of our hobby. It covers not only building various types of models, but also building other things which are important to the hobby, such as scenery, structures, track work, and wiring. It also recognizes service to the hobby and the NMRA, which are important as well. Earning the MMR status is a remarkable achievement. Additional AP information may be obtained at

William H. Hewlett, MMR #18
Robert J. Gardner, MMR #103
Gordon Varney , MMR #126
Douglas Hole, MMR #269
Patrick Lawson, MMR #270
Ed Warren , MMR #272

Mike Chandler , MMR #489

Jim Little , MMR #611